Problem Solving Accreditation and Certification

Foundation Problem Solver

At this level, the candidate must be able to determine the cause of the problem and recommend a feasible solution. The candidate must be able to visually demonstrate how they arrive at their answer. There is no need to demon-strate any proficiency in any one branded problem-solving methodology. Proficiency may have been acquired through work experience and/or having attended a training workshop. Training vendors may ad-minister an examination directly after a training workshop or some time thereafter.

Practitioner Problem Solver

The prerequisite for this accreditation is the completion of the Foundation Certification. At this level the can-didates must submit and have approved a total of six on-job applications of either finding causes or marking decisions or a combination from their workplace. Any submissions will remain confidential. Names and num-bers may be altered to ensure anonymity.

Master Problem Solver

A prerequisite is the completion of the Practitioner Problem Solver Accreditation. At this level, candidates must be able to demonstrate and verify that they have facilitated a complete improvement initiative within their existing company. This will need the endorsement of a senior leaders from the candidate’s organisation.   

Problem Solving Paths

There are several paths available to acquire the different levels of accreditation. Please refer to the following diagram and comments to reach a better understanding of how to progress through the different levels.


Problem Solving Paths

All the elements represented contains components of training and coaching. Please find below an explanation of each path:

Path 1: Cybersecurity

– A facilitated workshop over a period containing both training assignments and on-the-job coaching. This is divided into 2 blocks of 4 days in-class training and coaching. This is followed by a practical in-house facilitated/coaching session on live cybersecurity issues.

Path 2: Project Management Problem Solving

– This path is designed for Project staff on how to become a master problem solver in recovering failing in-house projects. This is divided in to 2 blocks of 2 days training and coaching followed up with by a 5-day in-depth facilitator training and coaching session. The incumbent has the choice to either add a Train-the-Trainer component or lead an in-house Continuous Improvement project.

Path 3: Operations Problem Solving

– This follows the same path as the project leader but is only executed in the Manufacturing and Production environment.

Path 4 & 5: IT Problem Solving

– The incumbent has the choice to either follow the route of Incident and Problem Management Problem solving or the route of IT Root Cause Analysis Problem solving. The remainder of the path is the same for both approaches which is completing the Facilitator training (5 days) and then completing either a TTT component or an in-house CI project.


We are excited to announce this new category of accreditation, which we believe is going to be one of the most sought-after accreditations in the future. Cybersecurity has become one of the important burning issues in modern day business and you have the opportunity to reach a MASTER LEVEL by helping Management to devise and implement highly effective cybersecurity protocols. The exact same accreditation can be rewarded for any RISK (Cyber Security) application. In this case the accreditation will be the following:

  • Cyber Solutions Expert (Foundation One & Two) (CSE)

    – Completion of the “ASSESSMENT” module of the Cyber Security Development Program will qualify the participant for a Foundation One certificate. Completion of the SelfCYBER “RESILIENCY BUILD” module will qualify the participant for the Foundation Two certificate.
  • Cyber Solutions Expert (Practitioner) (CSEP)

    – To qualify for this certification the applicant needs to complete an “On the Job Coaching” assignment while facilitating a complete SelfCYBER cycle of facilitation events.
  • Cyber Solutions Expert (Master) (CSEM)

    – Applicant has proven to IPPS that he/she has initiated, managed, and successfully completed at least three cybersecurity investigations and resiliency builds. This needs to be verified in writing by a senior line manager.