Lean Accreditation and Certification

The Development of Lean Thinkers follows a vertical model where it is assumed that as an individual progresses, prior knowledge remains in use. Knowledge and skill acquired at a lower level will therefore be usable, and will be acknowledged in higher level accreditation. The diagram below shows the progression of Lean Thinkers in general as well as curriculum, certification and accreditation requirements. General guidelines for certification and accreditation of Lean Thinkers are based on the curriculums that includes the following:

  • Customer Value & Waste
  • Process & Flow
  • Value Stream Concepts
  • Process Improvement
  • Operational Management Principles

Lean Accreditation & Certification Paths

Path 1: Lean Thinking Foundation

Curriculum Requirements:
  • Customers & Value
  • Business Process
  • Waste Removal
  • Process Improvement
Certification Requirement:
  • Lean Thinking Foundation Curriculum Completed
  • Lean Thinking Foundation Examination 

Path 2: Lean Thinking Practitioner

Curriculum Requirements:
  • Value Stream Mapping
  • Value Stream Analysis
  • Process Improvement Event
  • Lean Thinking Foundation Curriculum
Certification Requirement:
  • Lean Practitioner Curriculum Completed
  • Lean Practitioner Examination
  • Process Improvement Event Implemented

Certification Process

Curriculum Requirements

Option 1: Recognition of Prior Learning

The IPPS standards are flexible and allows for recognition of prior learning engaged in with all Lean Thinking.

Prior Learning of Lean Thinking is recognized on condition that valid evidence of such prior learning can be presented.

Candidates may be required to do additional study in the event that not all required components are present in a prior curriculum.

In all cases, when prior learning is recognized, candidates are required to demonstrate retention and understanding of such knowledge, by obtaining a pass mark for the appropriate IPPS Examination in order to be awarded CPD points.

Curriculum Requirements

Option 2: No prior learning

If no prior learning is in place that could be recognized, the candidate will be reffered to a suitable Lean Thinking for suitable learning, or the candidate may elect to do learning with an institution recognised by the IPPS.  

Following training individuals can demonstrate knowledge and understanding by obtaining a pass mark for the appropriate IPPS examination and be awarded CPD points. 

Lean Application Requirements

Where required for certification, candidates must provide objective evidence that Lean Thinking Projects was implemented by the candidate personally within an organization.

Broad requirements are shown for the different levels of Lean Certification in the diagram above.

CDP Points Post Certification

Individuals can apply for the award of Lean CPD Points Post Certification, using a recently completed and implemented Lean Projects as evidence.

CPD Points for Projects implemented are similar to the CDP Points awarded for an initial certification project.